
STATE OF MINNESOTA 

IN SUPREME COURT 

AMENDED RULES FOR REGISTRATION OF ATTORNEYS 

WHEREAS, Minnesota does not have an integrated bar but 

does have an active and effective voluntary bar association in 

which a large percentage of all active attorneys at law prac- 

ticing in this state are members, and 

WHEREAS, in the past the expenses of conducting exam- 

inations for admissions to the practice of law and the expenses 

incident to conducting disciplinary proceedings were paid in 

part by a biennial appropriation of the legislature out of the 

general tax sources of the state; in part by a fee exacted from 

applicants for admission to the bar; and in part by contributions 

received from the state bar association, and 

WHEREAS, it is improper to accept money for these pur- 

poses either from the general tax sources of the state or from 

contributions of a voluntary bar association that does not in- 

clude as members all practicing attorneys of the state as these 

obligations ought of right to be borne by all members of the 

bar, whether associated with the state bar association or not, 

and 

WHEREAS, it is desirable that a current list of those 

who are authorized to practice law in this state be maintained, 

NOW THEREFORE, by virtue of and under the inherent power 

of this court to regulate the practice of law in this state, 

these rules are adopted in order that there may be on file an- 

nually a current list of all those authorized to practice law 

in this state and in order that the expenses of conducting 

examinations for admissions to the bar and conducting disciplinary 

proceedings may be borne by all attorneys at law authorized to 

. 



practice law in this state, 

1. Admission to the bar of the State of Minnesota and 

disciplinary proceedings shall be conducted according to rules 

promulgated by this court. 

2. In order to defray the expenses of examinations and 

investigations for admission to the bar and disciplinary pro- 

ceedings, over and above the amount paid by applicants for such 

admission, with the exceptions hereinafter enumerated, each 

attorney admitted to practice law in this state and those mem- 

bers of the judiciary who are required to be admitted to practice 

as a prerequisite to holding office shall hereafter annually, 

on or before the first day of January of each year after his, 

original admission, pay to the clerk of the supreme court a 

registration fee in the sum of Twenty-five Dollars ($25.00) or 

in such lesser sum as the court may annually hereafter determine. 

All amounts in excess of $7.00 shall be allocated and used ex- 

clusively for regulating the practice of law according to the 

rules of professional conduct adopted or promulgated by the 

supreme court, 

The following attorneys and judges shall pay an annual 

registration fee of Seven Dollars ($7.00): 

(a) Any attorney who has reached the age of 70 years 

and files annually with the clerk of supreme court an affidavit 

that he is not engaged in the practice of law; 

(b) Any attorney or judge whose permanent residence is 

outside the State of Minnesota and who does not practice law 

within this state; 

(c) Any attorney who has not been admitted to practice 

for more than three years; 

(d) Any attorney while on duty in the armed forces of 

the United States; 



(e) Any judge who is retired and no longer serves on 

the bench or practices law. 

3, Upon failure to pay such fee, the right to practice 

law in this state shall be automatically suspended, and no 

individual shall be authorized to practice law in this state 

or to in any manner hold himself out as qualified or authorized 

to practice law while in default in the payment of such regis- 

tration fee. Any individual who shall violate this rule shall 

be subject to all the penalties and remedies provided by law 

for the unauthorized practice of law in the State of Minnesota. 

It shall be the duty of each member of the judiciary to enjoin 

persons from appearing and practicing in his court whose failure 

to register has come to the attention of such court. 

4. Annually on or before December 1 of each year the 

clerk of the supreme court shall mail to each individual then 

authorized to practice law, who has not paid such registration 

fee, at his last known address, a statement showing the amount 

of the registration fee required for the next ensuing year. 

Failure to receive such notice shall not excuse payment of such 

fee. Every attorney at law shall immediately notify the clerk 

of this court of any change of address. 

5. The right to practice law may be reinstated by the 

court after suspension upon application and upon payment of all 

delinquent registration fees and the additional sum of Five 

Dollars ($5.00), This court may, in hardship cases, waive pay- 

ment of delinquent fees. 

6. Upon payment of the registration fee, the clerk of 

the supreme court shall issue and deliver to the person paying 

the same a certificate in such form as may be provided by this 

court, showing that such individual is an attorney at law in 

good standing and authorized to practice in the State of 

Minnesota. 



7. All money collected from applicants for admission 

to the bar or as an annual registration fee as provided herein 

shall be deposited by the clerk in a special fund, as directed 

by this court, and shall be disbursed therefrom only upon vou- 

chers signed by a member of this court. 

8. Nothing herein shall prevent any court in this 

state from granting special permission to nonresident counsel 

to appear and participate in a particular action or proceeding 

in association with an authorized attorney of 

Dated this 4th day of August, 1970. 
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